Insane BTC to XAU exchange rate on RippleTrade

Trade experiences with Ripple users and gateways
Google [Bot] like(s) this thread.

Insane BTC to XAU exchange rate on RippleTrade

Postby stephenrs » Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:48 pm

I'm new at this, so any insight that anyone can provide would be helpful...

I performed my first very small test conversion from BTC to XAU on RippleTrade recently, expecting that the conversion would be performed at the standard conversion rate (as published here: http://preev.com/btc/xau), but found out that this was not the case. More specifically, to receive 0.00005 XAU, I needed to pay about 0.000348 BTC - which works out to about 0.1417XAU for 1 BTC - or about $4000 USD per ounce of gold! Since the current price of gold is about $1300 USD, something just doesn't seem right.

So, I'm wondering if there's something wrong with RippleTrade (I've run into bugs in the past), or if I'm just trading into a highly illiquid market and paid a ridiculous asking price(?) Anybody know how this works?

Since there's very little information on the RippleTrade website regarding how conversions are processed (as opposed to actual bid/ask trades), I thought I'd see if there was someone here who could shed some light. Also, I've already reported this on the RippleTrade issue tracker, but maybe developers aren't the best folks to ask about this sort of thing.

Thanks
stephenrs

Re: Insane BTC to XAU exchange rate on RippleTrade

Postby yvv » Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:54 pm

stephenrs wrote:
So, I'm wondering if there's something wrong with RippleTrade (I've run into bugs in the past), or if I'm just trading into a highly illiquid market and paid a ridiculous asking price(?) Anybody know how this works?

You are just trading in highly illiquid market and paid a ridiculous asking price. You'd better leave a bid order in a trade book and wait for somebody to take it.
yvv

Postby stephenrs » Wed Aug 13, 2014 12:18 am